Live Vote Counting: Tracking House Speaker Votes

On Thursday, Representative Kevin McCarthy of California Offered new offers A A group of ultraconservative Republicans They prevented him from getting the majority of votes needed to win the post of Speaker.

After the eleventh poll, the House has yet to elect a Speaker. Members will now vote on the adjournment motion until noon on Friday.

A table showing the current tally of recent polls for Speaker of the House.

11th Speaker Vote Count

Total to. Representative


200 0 200
Headshot of Representative Donalds


12 0 12
Headshot of Rep. Hearn


7 0 7
1 0 1
Headshot of Representative Jeffries


212 212 0
1 0 1

Note: To win, a member must receive a majority of votes cast per person, not counting “current” votes. The Constitution specifies that House members elect the Speaker, but the Speaker does not have to be a current or former representative.

If every member of Congress votes for Mr. McCarthy needs 218 votes, so he can only lose four Republican votes. In Thursday’s seventh-to-eleventh round of voting, 20 Republicans voted for other candidates, and one voted “now.” When Rep. Ken Buck of Colorado did not vote, Mr. McCarthy lost the Republican vote in the ninth through eleventh round. All 212 Democrats voted for the minority leader, Representative Hakeem Jeffries of New York.

By urging lawmakers unwilling to support him to “abstain” or not vote at all, Mr. McCarthy could win the speakership with fewer than 218 votes.

See also  Harvard defends plagiarism investigation of former president

Table showing summary counts for each ballot of House Speaker votes.

Voting round Headshot of Rep. McCarthyMcCarthy Headshot of Representative JeffriesJeffries Others Currently
1st 203 212 19 0
2nd 203 212 19 0
3rd 202 212 20 0
4th 201 212 20 1
5th 201 212 20 1
6th 201 212 20 1
7th 201 212 20 1
8th 201 212 20 1
9th 200 212 20 1
10th 200 212 20 1
11th 200 212 20 1

Note: To win, a person must receive a majority of votes cast for a person, not counting “current” votes.

In the first vote on Tuesday, 19 House Republicans voted against Mr. Voted for a Republican other than McCarthy. On the second ballot, the same 19 opposed him but rallied around Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio, a founding member of the ultraconservative House Freedom Caucus. Mr. Jordan told his colleagues that Mr. appealed to McCarthy to give their support, but all 19, plus one additional Republican, voted against Mr. McCarthy on the third ballot. Voted for Jordan.

In Wednesday’s fourth, fifth and sixth round of voting, the same 20 Republicans voted for Rep. Byron Donalds of Florida, and one voted “now.” The council reconvened at noon on Thursday for a follow-up vote.

How each representative voted

Members who vote differently than their party’s majority are highlighted.

A list of each representative’s votes during the round of House Speaker votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *