Coast Guard crew earns medals

John DeMings
Published on February 8, 2013
Members of the Coast Guard Westport crew are being awarded Canada's Medal of Bravery

 Ian McBride of Digby is among members of the Coast Guard station in Westport being awarded the Medal of Bravery today in Ottawa for their December 2009 rescue of three men whose fishing boat sunk during a storm in the Bay of Fundy.

[RELATED: Calling off search for missing fisherman (published Dec. 17, 2009)]

The decoration for bravery is being presented this afternoon in Rideau Hall by Gov-Gen. David Johnston.

Also being honored are fellow crew members Dale Bollivar of Middlewood, Paul Oliver of Annapolis Royal, and commanding officer David Pink of Albert Bridge.

According to the citation accompanying the award, the Coast Guard crew “made their way with great difficulty through troubled seas to reach the victims, who were spotted in an inflatable lifeboat.

“Once the victims were safely on board, the rescuers continued to search for a fourth man over several more hours, in the crashing waves. Sadly, he was never located.”

Pink is now stationed in Louisbourg, and McBride, Bollivar and Oliver remain members of the Westport crew.

Created in 1972, the Decorations for Bravery recognize people who risked their lives to try to save or protect the lives of others. The Cross of Valour recognizes acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril; the Star of Courage recognizes acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril; and the Medal of Bravery recognizes acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.