Digby and Bear River clinics add extra days

Jonathan
Jonathan Riley
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

health news

A second doctor has agreed to help out at the Digby clinic for ‘unattached patients’.

“A physician from away, who has been here before and knows the area, has graciously offered to provide service in our clinic,” says Hubert d’Entremont, site manager at Digby General Hospital.

The physician has so far committed to five days in February and two days in March.

“That’s the known availability at this time,” says d’Entremont. “With the anticipation that further pockets of time will be available in the future.”

The clinic will now be open:

Monday, Feb.18

Tuesday, Feb. 19

Thursday, Feb. 21

Monday, Feb. 25

Tuesday, Feb. 26

Wednesday, Feb. 27

Thursday, Feb. 28

Monday, March 4

Tuesday, March 5

Thursday, March 7

Monday, March 11

Monday, March 18

Monday, March 25

Dr. Alan Dill will continue to work Mondays out of the clinic (although not Easter Monday, March 31 of course).

D'Entremont says the clinic, open for just over a month, has been fully booked from the beginning and people have been using it ‘efficiently’.

“The people who have been requesting appointments are not tied to a family physician or nurse practitioner and they are accessing the clinic for health issues which, if it weren’t for this clinic they would have to go to the emergency department,” says d’Entremont.

He says it is too early to say if the clinic is taking any pressure off the emergency department but they are tracking it.

People in the Digby area without a family physician or primary care provider can make an appointment by calling the consultant clinic at Digby General Hospital, 902-245-2502 extension 3282.

The complete schedule, with additional days, for February and March is also available on the South West Health website:

The Bear River Area Community Health Clinic is also holding five clinic days with Dr. Nav Mangat.

Saturday, Feb. 23 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 25 11 a.m. – 5:30pm

Saturday, Mar. 2 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, Mar. 4 11 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Everybody welcome, no appointment necessary. Please bring valid health card.

Contact the clinic for more information: 467-3611.

jriley@digbycourier.ca

Organizations: Digby General Hospital, South West Health

Geographic location: Digby

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page

Comments

Comments